Sausage bakewells

Ian loves Bakewell tarts, he also loves sausages so…… What could be better than a Sausage Bakewell?

butcher 2Don’t fear though this isn’t a recipe involving icing sugar, almonds and sausages (although on reflection Ian would like this) this is a savory treat – perfect for snacks,  lunch boxes or served with salad and jacket potatoes as a main meal.

So……. Assemble the following (makes 12 tarts):

Back to School Pie 5Approx 450grams of shortcrust  pastry (little secret we made ours with half butter half dripping ooops)

6 sausages (local and from the butcher of course)Shopping 6

6 teaspoons of apple sauce

1 apple (cored and sliced)apple 6

1 small onion peeled and sliced thinly

150grams of cheddar cheese

150grams bread crumbs

Preheat oven to 200c

Cut each sausage in half – magically turning 6 sausages into 12!

Roll out pastry and cut 12 rounds. Grease tray and push in the pastry.

Prick and bake blind for 5 mins.

Remove from the oven and add 1/2 teaspoon of apple sauce, a sausage piece, a slice of apple and a slice of onion.

Mix together cheese and breadcrumbs and top the tarts with mix. Bake for about 25 mins until the pastry is golden and the sausage is cooked and brown.

Yum!

Come on then who guessed we wrote the post, made the bakewells and…… forgot to photograph them!? Double oops!

10 thoughts on “Sausage bakewells

  1. Ooooppss! They sound lovely anyway!! I’ll be giving them a go, I cooked the caramel sauce last week and it was fab!! Apple chutney is going to be made too if I can get enough jam jars

  2. These sound so tasty Becksie, a picture would have been good!!!!! But if you didn’t get chance to photograph them they must have been really good. One to put in my recipe stash for a moment when.

  3. they sound great! was looking forward to the photo as I was reading….lol
    Glad I’m not the only one who forgets, with me it’s the in progress photos while I’m sewing.

  4. All I have wanted to do since reading this post this morning is eat a sausage bakewell. But I have no shortcrust pastry (nor, I’m afraid, the inclination to make it – I’m a good friend of Mr Jus’Roll) and my sausages are currently frozen. I’m saving it up for a Friday special!!

Comments are closed.