Signature dish

Everyone needs a signature dish! Even people who are very tiny still. Becksie was always involved in cooking from a young age and so she was keen that Lizzie joined in as soon as she was able.

Becksie cooking in the early days

Becksie cooking in the early days

So….. we give you Lizzie Pugh’s current signature dish – Rice Pudding! Lizzie its over to you…….

rice pud 4I have now made this dish all by my own a few times now and it really is easy and tasty! The only bit I will let mummy help with is the putting it in the oven bit, the getting it out bit and….. the eating bit!

I was just considering adding currants but decided against it this time although a handful work a treat

I was just considering adding currants but decided against it this time although a handful work a treat

Get all your ingredients out, mine live in the pantry which is just across the kitchen from my me-sized kitchen counter. I gather pudding rice, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg from the pantry, then milk and cream from the fridge and a bowl from the cupboard.

rice pud 3So for the three of us I use the amount of rice I can pour in the time my mummy can say ‘peppa pig’ ‘peppa pig’. I then add as much sugar as I can in the time mummy can say ‘george’. I then mix it up!

rice pud 2Take your milk and add until the rice is covered and then a good few centimetres. Add a glug of cream and a generous sprinkling of nutmeg and cinnamon. Mix it up!

rice pud 7rice pud 6rice pud 5Pop it in a ‘hot hot hot’ (200c) oven for about 45 minutes. If its starting to look dry and the rice is still hard add more milk.

Serve to mummy and daddy with a spoon of my mummy’s blackcurrant jam? Lovely as we are now in Autumn.

8 thoughts on “Signature dish

  1. What a clever girl Lizzie is, and what a wonderful mummy she has who lets her cook! Love it that you don’t stop her because ” it might be messy” ! I’m glad you put “doing things” before being clean and neat and perfect!

  2. Lizzie you are such a clever little girl …and your Mummy is a clever big girl cooking up special memories together she knows is more important than a little bit of “mess” xx

Comments are closed.