Autumn

Team Pugh love living in the UK for lots of reasons, but one of our favourite things about Britain is our wonderful seasons. Winter for the cold nights, warm fires and snow, spring for the early flowers, new wildlife and longer days and glorious summer for evenings that stretch until 10 pm and the sun (at least this year anyway)!Autumn 1

And then there is autumn. When Team Pugh thinks of autumn we picture leaves blowing beautifully in the wind, conkers line the streets and squirrels can be seen everywhere collecting acorns ready for a cold winter.

What we have realised this week is that autumn actually means rain. Not the nice, warm, summer rain that you can gladly walk in, just cold, grey rain that makes the whole world look, well……….a little drab.Autumn 2

Autumn, and the rainy season, means the start of two of life’s little irritations. Irritation number 1, drying washing. There is something wonderful about being able to wash and dry 3 or 4 loads of washing on a hot day in the summer, but something much less wonderful about having damp washing everywhere in the colder months. Having a wood stove helps as it kicks out a lot of heat and you can fill the room with washing before bed, but still in a small house airers full of wet clothes are not good, especially with a fully mobile toddler on the loose.autumn 4

Irritation number 2, brought on by the rainy season is wet and muddy cat prints. everywhere. We have a large doormat by our back door, and despite constant asking/pleading/begging the cats still refuse to wipe their feet on the way in, thus resulting in constant trails of prints across the kitchen floor and (if the cats are feeling particularly naughty the kitchen table). Grrrrrrrr!!

Who, me??

Who, me??

Ah well, time to get the fire struck up, get the mop on standby, to remember to put a jumper on in the morning, to carry Lizzie’s rain coat and buggy rain cover everywhere and face the music, or rather the rain!

8 thoughts on “Autumn

  1. Agreed, there are disadvantages to autumn. HOWEVER! There are pros and cons of every season and I will hereby make my case for autumn because it’s my FAVOURITE! It’s the most beautiful, it smells the best, it’s time to start thinking about boots and scarves and coats and wrapping up again, and the mornings are just lovely. Think of low autumn mists and a subtle touch of frost and a bright wintery sun above…mmm! Driving to work across the Cotswolds through autumn is one of the saving graces of a long-ish commute for me. I’m a winter baby so the beginning of autumn gives me a little tingle in my tummy!! Embrace your muddy cats (but I do agree about the washing).

  2. Im lucky then my cat wouldn’t dream of going out in the rain and getting his feet wet!…I do love all our seasons, even the cold and wet..I think that is what I love most about England, constantly changing seasons and adjusting menus to suit, bowls of steaming soup, stew & dumplings, baked apples and of course starting to think about Christmas puddings, mincemeat and marzipan!….do agree about the wet washing though!

  3. I’ve also been feeling all romantic about Autumn although I wasn’t impressed to get to work soaked to the skin after cycling through the drizzle that suddenly became a downpour – still the cycle home in bright sunshine more than made up for that.

    After spending 7 years in Scotland I won’t live in a house without a Victorian style airer. Gets the washing up near the ceiling and out of the way. I’d definitely have an autumn washing induced meltdown otherwise. We’ve got my husband’s late Grannies airer and we take it with us everytime we move.

    I’d probably fight to the death if someone tried to take it off me. 😉

Comments are closed.