A few Lemony things

lemon 1Well first of all a little bit of a shopping fail……… we totally forgot that we needed loo roll! Ooopppps! We don’t know how we had such an oversight as loo roll is fairly important but we did and we had to pop to the ‘really useful shop’ in Faringdon and purchase some emergency loo roll! 9 rolls for £2.29 and get this……. Its 3 ply and scented! The scent is lemon but too be honest it stinks but hey ho we supported a local shop.

lemon 2

Talking of lemons……. We’ve been meaning to share a recipe we tried a while ago with you so here you go today’s blog post is a lemon yogurt cake recipe! What a ‘crap’ lemony link……. (sorry couldn’t resist hehe)

lemonLemon Yogurt Cake

This recipe makes about 16 pieces and is great as a little morning, afternoon or late night snack.

You will need:

100grams butter

100grams golden caster sugar

2 free range eggs

150grams natural yogurt ( we in actual fact used toffee yogurt)

Grated lemon zest and juice of 1 lemon

300 grams plain flour

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

For the sugary top (this seriously makes the cake)

50 grams sugar

2 tbsp lemon juice

Preheat the Oven to 180c

Line a square tin (approx 20 cms)

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy

Gradually beat in the eggs

Beat in the yogurt, juice and zest

Sift the flour and bicarbonate of soda and gently fold in

Pour into the tin and bake for approximately  45 minutes until a skewer comes out clean.

Whilst the cake is hot out of the oven mix together the sugar and lemon juice for the topping and put the mixture on top of the hot cake

Allow the cake to cool in the tin

When cool remove and cut into squares

We know this is basically a very similar event to the lemon drizzle we previously shared but…….. the yogurt adds an extra dimension.

17 thoughts on “A few Lemony things

  1. Ooooh! I MUST try your yogurt lemon cake soon. It looks delicious.
    And, talking about lemony things: I baked biscuits today. Just plain, ordinary biscuits. But the recipe asked for self-rising flour, which I never have. I make my own, using plain flour and baking powder. However, I’d run out of baking powder and had to make new first. I messed up, and added too much citric acid. My plain biscuits have a lovely lemony taste now! 🙂

  2. Oooh, this looks v v yummy, Im into Yeo valleys Lemon Curd yogurt at the moment, so Im sure I will enjoy this. BTW loved the intro you could say its “a-lemon-entry mr dear Watson” (if you are Sherlock Holmes fans you will understand) :o)

  3. Hello, I am new to your blog, it has taken me just over a week to read after I saw you article in the Newbury Today magazine, I have the feeling that I have when I get to the end of a really good book, that feeling of satisfaction, with a little disappointed that it is all over! I will of course keep tuning in for updates and to see how you are getting on.
    I am, as lots of your readers are, more than a little inspired. Your blog has really made me think about the way we shop and even more about the way we eat. We thought, as you did, that we cooked most of our food from scratch (no shop bought jars of sauces or ready-made pastry here), but already in a week I can see 1) how much food we buy and don’t use and 2) how much ‘produce’ we buy. We do already try to buy some things locally (meat, some vegetables and other produce) from the farmers market and a farm shop near my parents, but bought an awful lot of other stuff in the supermarket.
    We do have two habits that I am not sure we will be able to break 1) Cravendale milk – our two year old drinks a lot of milk and we started buying Cravendale when we had problems with her whole milk going off quickly in the summer so did pop into Budgens for this, and 2) bulk buying at Costco – mainly pasta, tinned tomatoes toilet roll, dog food and nappies. Not sure how we will go for these but trying to buy more locally and have discovered a lovely (and very reasonably priced) greengrocers and butchers near my work and there is a community shop in my Mum’s village, which we will be able to visit when we are visiting her.
    Just realised how much I have rabbited on, sorry! One quick thing, you said that you were missing milk, have you tried making your own. Its very easy.

    Thanks for the inspiration and sharing your journey.
    Becky

    • Hiya

      Wow – thank you so much for reading (can’t believe you read the it all – we feel honored). What a lovely comment 🙂 It’s amazing what a big effect this project has had on us and its really lovely to hear that it is also having an impact on others that read our ramblings. About the milk? how do you make it? Confused?

      Much Love

      Ian, Becksie and Lizzie

Comments are closed.