Recipes Old, New and Invented

Time for another guest post from Grandad Gray…………….

Being a keen follower of the blog I am finding that it is spur to do things which I might not get around to in the big scheme of things. I havn’t yet abandoned Aldi & Lidl but have not shopped at Tesco’s el-al since the blog began. In fact as I followed someone into Sainsbury’s to get some toilet rolls I felt quite guilty even though I was only a spectator.

I have always liked cooking and was pleased when a slightly out of date loaf was given to me as this reminded me of Grandad’s bread pudding. Grandad in this case being Leah and Rebekah’s Grandad.  I guess I have now taken on his mantle.

As a boy I always enjoyed helping as this is a very hands on recipe. Take half a loaf of stale bread and break into small pieces into a large mixing bowl. Pour on enough milk to wet all the bread but not inundate it. Add 300gram of mixed fruit or as I did, a jar of mincemeat.  recipe one

 Beat a couple of eggs and fold in then add 50 grams flour, a large knob of butter, 3 tabsp. of brown sugar and a good pinch of mixed spice. Now for the fun you get in there with clean hands and squidge it all together until it is of an even consistency. Put into a large, greased oven dish and cook for 90 minutes in a low (150c Gas 2) oven. Remove and sprinkle with brown sugar, then cook for 15 mins at 180c Gas 4. Once you cut into it you will always have to have a second or third slice.

recipe two

Why I underlined clean hands is that Grandad always claimed that the ‘squidging’ process was excellent for really cleaning his hands! Still it always tasted good.

Now to my invented recipe. Looking in the garden I saw there were still a few beetroot but not enough to make pickled beetroot. I toyed with beetroot soup but just as I was carrying them in to put on the boiler I had the idea of trying them in a curry. So here is my recipe.

2 medium onions

3 garlic cloves

Some meat (I used 4 chicken drumsticks that needed using)

300gram diced cooked beetroot.

A pepper

Any veg you need to use up. In this case 5 spring onions, 2 very ripe tomatoes and some left over green cabbage.

Curry powder (as strong as you like) I make my own blend.

A little seasoned flour.

400ml stock

recipe five

The beetroot and curry powder.

recipe four

The ingredients sans beetroot.

Sweat the ingredients except beetroot in a large pan. Dust the curry and flour over the ingredients and stir well to distribute across everything. Add the beetroot and stock then cook over a low heat for an hour or more until the meat is really soft, stirring regularly. Serve with rice and yoghurt.

Lovely.

recipe six

Finally the new.

Well new for me anyway. Reading the blog about Rebekah’s struggles with scones I decided to have a go. So I googled cheese scones and came up with, http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/8877/cheese-scones and had my first go. Sorry Becksie!!

recipe three

2 thoughts on “Recipes Old, New and Invented

  1. I was very happy to find this great site. I wanted to thank you for your time just for this wonderful read!! I definitely really liked every little bit of it and I have you saved to fav to look at new things in your site

Comments are closed.